DATE: December 8, 2016

RE: John N. Hurty Service Award

Each year the Indiana Department of Environmental Management has presented the John N. Hurty Service Award to individuals having 25 years or more of service with one or more Indiana public water utilities. These awards are presented each year at the Indiana Section AWWA fall district meetings. This year the district meetings are tentatively scheduled as follows:

Southwest Wednesday, September 6th Southeast Thursday, September 7th Central Friday, September 13th Northeast Thursday, September 14th Northwest Friday, September 15th

The Indiana Section AWWA is in its eighth year of providing the administration for these awards. Due to State budget constraints, IDEM is no longer able to provide the management of these awards. The Indiana Section Executive Board feels that these service awards continue to be a valuable recognition to long serving public water utility employees; therefore, the Indiana Section volunteered to provide administration of the John N. Hurty Service Awards.

We request that you review your records and advise us of those of your staff who have 25 years or more of service as indicated in the enclosed "Conditions Governing Presentation of the John N. Hurty Award". We will need the employee's name, date of employment, years of employment, utility (and contact information) and Indiana Section AWWA district.

Please submit this information on the attached form as soon as possible, but no later than *June 1, 2017* to:

E-Mail Mail Fax

dawn.keyler@inawwa.org AWWA, Indiana Section 866-215-5966

2680 E Main Street, Suite 106

Plainfield, IN 46168

If you have any questions or comments, please call 866-213-2796.

Respectfully,

Dawn Keyler, Executive Director

Indiana Section AWWA

Encl: John N. Hurty Service Award – Background and Governing Conditions

John N. Hurty Service Award - Nomination Form

## John N. Hurty Service Award Nomination Form

## <u>2017</u>

| Utility:          |                 |                  |  |
|-------------------|-----------------|------------------|--|
| Address:          |                 |                  |  |
|                   |                 |                  |  |
| Telephone:        |                 |                  |  |
| Fax:              |                 |                  |  |
| Contact Person: _ |                 |                  |  |
|                   |                 |                  |  |
|                   |                 |                  |  |
| Hurty Award Nom   |                 |                  |  |
| Name              | Date of Service | Years of Service |  |
|                   |                 |                  |  |
|                   |                 |                  |  |
|                   |                 |                  |  |
|                   |                 |                  |  |
|                   |                 |                  |  |
|                   |                 |                  |  |
|                   |                 |                  |  |
|                   |                 |                  |  |
|                   |                 |                  |  |
|                   |                 |                  |  |
|                   |                 | narata naga )    |  |

Please return to:

<u>E-mail</u> dawn.keyler@inawwa.org waterstreet@townofwinamac.com Mail Indiana Section AWWA 2680 E. Main St., Suite 106 Plainfield, IN 46168 <u>Fax</u> 866-215-5966

## CONDITIONS GOVERNING PRESENTATION OF THE IOHN N. HURTY SEVICE AWARD

Recipient must have been employed 25 years or more in some phase of production or distribution in the waterworks field, servicing the citizens of Indiana. Although service does not need to be in an uninterrupted span or in one community, it must have been with an Indiana public water utility.

Service in the Armed Forces of our country is counted as time employed, if the employee left the waterworks field for military duty and returned immediately after that period of duty.

An employee whose time has been divided among a number of utilities (i.e., water, gas, electric) must have devoted at least 75 percent of his/her time to the waterworks department unless he/she did all the work in the water department that there was to do.

Employees of the Department of Environmental Management, consulting engineers, manufacturers' representatives, or others not directly employed by a community water department are not eligible for the award. Included among those eligible would be superintendents or operators directly responsible for public water supplies and treatment plants, or State institutions, who meet all other requirements as stated herein, and water utility office personnel and other related jobs; e.g. meter readers.

Recipients are nominated by their respective superintendents. The superintendent submits to the Indiana Section AWWA John N. Hurty Service Award Committee the name of the employee, date of employment, years of employment (including interruptions in service, if any, with specific dates of separation and return to duty, utility and IN Section AWWA district), positions occupied during the years of service and position currently held. If years of service within the waterworks field included more than one water department, list all utilities with dates of service to each utility.

A John N. Hurty Service Award certificate, signed by the Governor of Indiana and the Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Management, and a lapel pin are given to all eligible recipients at the Indiana Section American Water Works Association Fall District meetings. An advanced lapel pin is given to those eligible for each additional five-year period of service. For example, a certificate and pin are given for the first 25-year period, followed by a 30-, 35-, 40-, 45-year, etc. pin as earned thereafter. If the employee's name was not turned in until the individual had served 31 years, the individual would receive a certificate showing the date and his/her 31 years of service but receive only a 30-year pin. In four years, the individual would receive a 35-year pin.

October 1 of each year is designated as the anniversary date for determining eligibility for the award and for the five year advancements.